Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Carlos Ruiz Zafón, for a penny, a smile, or a tear…

by Samantha Bacchus McLeod

…Carlos Ruiz Zafón, writer of stories, master of the pen, soul of the books, has sadly passed away at the tender age of 55. Eight novels he wrote, and I had hoped for another eight

My treasured copies will forevermore be the embodiment of Carlos Ruiz Zafón, he is present in every cadence of each carefully crafted sentence, he is larger than life in all his novels, he lives on, for eternity.

“I am in the business of storytelling. I always have been, always will be. It is what I’ve been doing since I was a kid. Telling stories, making up tales, bringing life to characters, devising plots, visualizing scenes and staging sequences of events, images, words and sounds that tell a story. All in exchange for a penny, a smile or a tear, and a little of your time and attention.” – Carlos Ruiz Zafón on why he writes.

Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Shadow of the Wind is the most read novel amongst his many novels, but all his books remind me of a line from one…“Every book, every volume you see here, has a soul. The soul of the person who wrote it and of those who read it and lived and dreamed with it.”

The author of eight novels that also included, The Angel’s Game, The Prisoner of Heaven and The Labyrinth of Spirits, Ruiz Zafón’s books were translated into more than 40 languages, and sold more than 38 million copies worldwide.

Zafón’s books leave indelible impressions on the mind, once his books are read it becomes absorbed in the soul, leaving you in that murky corridor of memory…was it real? Is it my memory, or his story?

I remember reading Shadow of the Wind in one evening, the journey felt urgent, I had to leave this physical place and follow Daniel, I had to go along to ensure Daniel’s safety, I had to endure Carax’s tenebrous presence, I had to watch Daniel’s back lest Carax destroyed his beautiful soul.

I wanted to live in the Cemetery of Lost Books in Barcelona forever, but life kept pulling me away, Daniel’s life in The Shadow of the Wind.

“In the end, it has been what I dreamed of,” said the author, describing the series as “books about my own inner world, about writing and reading … I wanted to explore the creative process of storytelling, and this has allowed me to understand many things about myself.

The Shadow of the Wind, The Angel’s Game, The Prisoner of Heaven, The Labyrinth of the Spirits…to learn about his books before you buy, visit Publisher Weekly to read the synopsis of each masterpiece he penned for his adoring public.

“I do not know if I am wiser, but I feel more at peace with myself,” said Carlos Ruiz Zafón in one of his interviews.

He did – eight times over – what he set out to do, and he leaves behind a legacy that will keep on giving, inspiring, and healing.

That said, your untold stories have left an empty space behind Mr. Zafón.

Love books? Read Naomi K. Lewis’s latest novel, Tiny Lights for Travellers.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Agree